Skip Navigation LinksHome » News

Libraries NI hosts free Stretch and Relax Chair Yoga

Over the next few months Libraries NI will be hosting a series of free Stretch and Relax Chair Yoga classes in branches around Northern Ireland. 

These hour-long sessions will guide you through relaxation, gentle stretching, breathing exercises, meditation and mindfulness. 

Soft and gentle s​tretching provides a therapeutic head to toe workout for those with health conditions, the elderly or those who just want to go easy on their bodies.

Chair yoga increases circulation and may alleviate conditions like arthritis. This whole body routine helps maintain posture and most importantly generates the ‘feel good factor’ and a positive outlook!

Fiona Jones, who has practised yoga for many years and has personally experienced the benefits it offers in times of extreme pressure and is keen to pass on her knowledge to others, will guide the session. She will introduce a variety of techniques proven effective in combatting stress such as deep breathing, visualisation and progressive muscle relaxation. 

This is a great opportunity to release tension while taking some time out from a busy life. 

Sessions are free and open to all adults but booking is essential. To book a place contact the branch in person, by telephone or by email.

Date/time ​ Library​ Telephone​​

Tuesday 13 November​​​​​​ 

2:00pm - 3:00pm

​Lisnaskea Library 

lisnaskea.library@librariesni.org.uk

​028 6772 1222 

Tuesday 20 November​ 

11:00am – 12 noon

Ballymena Central Library
 

ballymena.library@librariesni.org.uk

​028 2563 3950

Wednesday 21 November​ 

11:00am – 12 noon

Brownlow Library
 

brownlow.library@librariesni.org.uk

​028 3834 1946

Friday 23 November​ 

11:00am – 12 noon

Omagh Library
 

omagh.library@librariesni.org.uk

​028 8244 0733

Monday 3 December​ 

10:30am  11:30am

Lurgan Library

lurgan.library@librariesni.org.uk​

​​028 3832 3912

Wednesday 5 December​ 

2:00pm – 3:00pm

​Newry City Library

newrycity.library@librariesni.org.uk

​028 3026 4683

Tuesday 15 January​ 

11:00am – 12 noon

Derry Central Library

derrycentral.library@librariesni.org.uk

​028 7122 9990

Wednesday 16 January​ 

10:00am - 11:00am

Suffolk Library​

suffolk.library@librariesni.org.uk 

​028 9050 9235

Friday 18 January​ 

2:00pm – 3:00pm

Banbridge Library​

banbridge.library@librariesni.org.uk

​028 4062 3973

Tuesday 5 February​ 

11:00am – 12 noon

Coleraine Library

coleraine.library@librariesni.org.uk

​028 7034 2561

Tuesday 12 February​​ 

11:00am – 12 noon

Dungannon Library​

dungannon.library@librariesni.org.uk

​028 8772 2952 

Friday 8 March​ 

12 noon – 1:00 ​pm

Dungiven Library​

dungiven.library@librariesni.org.uk​

​028 7774 1475

 ​