LIBRARIES NI BOARD MEMBERS



MS BONNIE ANLEY Chairperson of Libraries NI

Ms Anley holds an MA from Trinity College Dublin and an MSc from Queens University Belfast. She is a Fellow of the Institute of Directors and an accredited Chartered Director. Ms Anley has over 30 years' experience in senior governance roles in the commercial, public and third sectors. She has been a Member of the Broadcasting Council with the BBC, Council Member with the Irish Ships Agents' Association, Board Member with Southern Group Enterprises, Board Member for Warrenpoint Harbour Authority, Board Member Friends of the Earth Trust and Chair of Friends of the Earth Limited (England, Wales and Northern Ireland), Chair of the Northern Ireland Blood Transfusion Service, and Chair of Londonderry Port and Harbour Commissioners. Bonnie is currently a Lay Board Member of the Northern Ireland Fire and Rescue Service where she is Board Safeguarding Champion and a member of both the People & Culture and Remuneration Committees. Bonnie is a committee member of the Institute of Directors. Northern Ireland Committee. She is also a committee member of the Public Sector Chairs' Forum. Bonnie brings a range of considerable skills and experience to the Libraries NI Chair role focusing on leadership, delivering results, and communication and collaborative working.

Terms of Appointment:

1 January 2024 - 31 December 2027 (Duration: 4 years)



COUNCILLOR JULIE GILMOUR Vice Chairperson of Libraries NI

Councillor Gilmour is a member of Antrim and Newtownabbey Borough Council. She is a member of the Operations committee, which works with council directors and officers to deal with a wide number of services in the Borough, the Peace IV Committee and the Policing and Community Safety Partnership. She is also a member of the Board of Governors of a local primary school. In her past employment she has worked in sales and marketing, skills and experience of which she will bring to the Board.

Term of Appointment:

1 February 2020 - 18 May 2023 (Duration: 3 years 3 months) 19 May 2023 - the date of the next local council elections (May 2027)



COUNCILLOR ALISTAIR CATHCART

Councillor Cathcart is a member of Ards and North Down Borough Council and has held roles on a number of committees including the Planning Committee, Finance Committee and the Environment Committee, through which he brings strategic direction and stakeholder engagement to the Board. He is also Governor at a primary school and a Director on the Board of the North Down Development Organisation, a local enterprise agency.

Term of Appointment:

1 November 2019 - 18 May 2023 (Duration: 3 years 6 months) 19 May 2023 - the date of the next local council elections (May 2027)



COUNCILLOR ANDREW MCAULEY

Councillor McAuley is an elected representative on Antrim and Newtownabbey Council, having served as Chair of the Council's Audit and Risk Assurance Committee, and is an active member of the Alliance Party in the local area. Through his role as Operations Director in his family-run commercial business, he brings a range of organisational, project management and human resources skills to the Board. He holds no other public appointments.

Terms of Appointment:

1 March 2023 - the date of the next local council elections (May 2027)



COUNCILLOR MARTIN MCRANDAL

Councillor McRandal is an elected representative on Ards and North Down Council and is an active member of the Alliance Party in the local area. He is a Chartered Insurance Practitioner and Fellow of the Chartered Insurance Institute. He brings a range of skills to the Board including policy and strategy development, and financial experience. He has also been a Scout Group leader. He holds no other public appointments.

Terms of Appointment:

1 March 2023 - the date of the next local council elections (May 2027)



MRS WENDY OSBORNE OBE

Mrs Osborne is the former Chief Executive Officer for Volunteer Now and has worked within the voluntary and community sector for over 25 years. She is a past Chairperson of CO3 (Chief Officers' third sector) and Joint Chairperson of the Voluntary and Community Sector and Government Joint Forum. She brings experience of stakeholder engagement, strategic vision and good governance to the Board.

Term of Appointment:

1 July 2019 - 30 June 2023 (Duration: 4 years) 1 July 2023 - 30 June 2027 (Duration: 4 years)



MR JOHN PETO

Mr Peto is the Director of Education at the Nerve Centre. With expertise in the digital, education and creative sectors, he has experience of engaging people to deliver solutions and drive change at social and community levels. He has served on a range of boards, trusts and committees within the community and voluntary sector through which he has gained governance and financial oversight skills and experience.

Term of Appointment:

1 July 2019 - 30 June 2023 (Duration: 4 years) 1 July 2023 - 30 June 2027 (Duration: 4 years)



MISS LINDA WILSON

Miss Wilson is a former Department of Education Board Member where she contributed to the corporate planning process, financial and performance management. She developed a new Early Years Learning Policy and has wide experience of policy development and governance across a range of NICS Departments. She has also been the Chair of project boards of several major capital projects through which she oversaw risk management and financial progress.

Term of Appointment:

1 November 2019 - 31 October 2023 (Duration: 4 years)

1 November 2023 - 31 October 2027 (Duration: 4 years)



MS FINOLA GUINNANE Boardroom Apprentice

Finola is a marketing, communications and events professional currently working at Northern Ireland Screen on the development and implementation of Northern Ireland Screen's local. national and international marketing strategy. A passionate storyteller with over ten years' experience in marketing and communications, Finola was previously employed by Ulster University, Tourism NI and a local PR agency. Finola holds a first-class honours undergraduate degree, a postgraduate qualification in Communications and PR and a NI Public Sector Communications certificate with distinction.

Term of Appointment:

1 September 2023 – 31 August 2024 (Duration: 1 year)

REMUNERATION:

The Chairperson and Members of the Board of Libraries NI receive annual remuneration at rates and on conditions determined by the Department for Communities.

Members and the Chair are paid annually within the ranges:

Chairperson: £10,000 - £15,000

Member: £0 - £5,000

Individual remuneration is reported each year in the Libraries NI Annual Report and Accounts. Members may also receive travel and subsistence allowances by way of repayment of expenses legitimately incurred in the course of carrying out their duties.

TIME COMMITMENT:

The Board of Libraries NI meets six times per year with a number of business specific sub-committees sitting in the intervening periods. Board members generally sit on one or more of these sub-committees and consequently are required to commit some 10-12 days per annum to Board duties.

The Chairperson of the Board sits on all committees and has a significantly wider range of duties and responsibilities requiring significantly greater time commitment.