Skip Navigation LinksHome » News

Libraries to share the magic for Harry Potter Book Night - February 2018

​Libraries NI has announced a packed programme of events to celebrate Harry Potter Book Night.

Thursday 1 February 2018 will see the annual Harry Potter Book Night celebrated throughout the world and libraries across Northern Ireland are getting ready to host celebratory events throughout that week.

This year’s thrilling theme is Fantastic Beasts, the original cornucopia of mythical creatures, which sit at the very heart of the Harry Potter stories, and the events in libraries will include a mix of games, activities, readings and quizzes. 

Jim O’Hagan, Chief Executive of Libraries NI, says:

“We are so excited to be joining up with libraries, schools and community groups to celebrate Harry Potter Book Night. We have always been fans of the Harry Potter books and it is no surprise that they are among the most popular books borrowed in our libraries.” 

Harry Potter Book Night takes place annually on the first Thursday of February. On or around this time fans of all ages are invited to share the wonder of J.K. Rowling’s wonderful series and, most excitingly, pass the magic on to younger readers who have still to discover the unforgettable books and the unforgettable words created within.

Contact libraries directly to book a place.

Library​

​Event

Date/time​

​Contact

​Ballyclare​

Morning of magic! 
Children of all ages are welcome to come along dressed as their favourite Harry Potter character – there will also be activities and a quiz. ​​​​

Saturday 3 February 11:30am – 12:30pm ​

t: 028 9335 2269
e: ballyclare.library@librariesni.org.uk ​

Ballynahinch​

Harry Potter Fun and Crafts
Readings, games and craft for children age 6-10.

​Saturday 3 February 11:00am – 12:00noon

t: 028 9756 4282
e: ballynahinch.library@librariesni.org.uk

Banbridge​

Magic and Myths
A fun-filled afternoon of all things Harry Potter. Craft, games and stories for children age 8-12.

​Saturday 3 February 2:30pm – 4:00pm​

​t: 028 4062 3973
e: banbridge.library@librariesni.org.uk 

Bangor Carnegie​

Harry Potter Book Night
Sorting hat mayhem, readings, quiz, games, activities and craft for children age 6-12.​

​​Thursday 1 February 6:30pm – 8:00pm​

​t: 028 9127 0591
e: bangorcarnegie.library@librariesni.org.uk 

Coleraine​

Harry Potter Book Night
Stories, craft and games for children age 6 and over.

​Thursday 1 February 4:00pm – 5:00pm​

​t: 028 7034 2561
e: coleraine.library@librariesni.org.uk 

Dungannon​

​Harry Potter Book Night
A fun night of craft, potion making and a photo booth.

​Thursday 1 February 6:00pm – 7:00pm

​t: 028 8772 2952
e: dungannon.library@librariesni.org.uk 

Enniskillen​

​A Magical Night at Hogwarts
There will be stories, beast treasure hunt, work sheets and craft.

​Thursday 1 February 3:45pm – 4:45pm and Friday 2 February 3:45pm – 4:45pm​

​t: 028 6632 2886
e: enniskillen.library@librariesni.org.uk 

Glengormley​

Fantastic Beasts
For children age 8-11. There will be sorting hat mayhem, potion inspection, a quiz and dressing up.​

​Wednesday 7 February 3:15pm – 4:00pm​

​t: 028 9083 3797
e: glengormley.library@librariesni.org.uk 

​Grove

​Harry Potter’s Fantastic Beasts
A quiz night for children age 8-11​

​Thursday 1 February 6:30pm

​t: 028 9050 9244
e: grove.library@librariesni.org.uk 

​Holywood Arches

Storytime
Harry Potter themed storytime  for children age 4-8.​

​Tuesday 6 February 3:00pm

​t: 028 9050 9216
e:holywoodarches.library@librariesni.org.uk 

Limavady​

Harry Potter Craft
Drop in craft session for children of all ages.

​Saturday 3 February During opening hours

​t: 028 7776 2540
e: limavady.library@librariesni.org.uk 

​Lisburn City

Harry Potter Evening
Come along dressed up! There will be quizzes, colouring sheets and readings. For children age 7-10.

​Thursday 1 February 6:15pm – 7:00pm

​t: 028 9266 9345
e: lisburncity.library@librariesni.org.uk 

Newcastle​

​Harry Potter Evening
Harry Potter themed craft, activities and readings. For children age 8-12.

​Tuesday 6 February 6:30pm-7:30pm

​t: 028 4372 2710
e: newcastle.library@librariesni.org.uk 

Newry City​

Harry Potter Evening
Quiz and craft session for children age 8-12.

​Thursday 1 February 6:30pm – 7:45pm

​t: 028 3026 4683
e: newrycity.library@librariesni.org.uk 

Portaferry​

Harry Potter Book Night
Storytime, craft and fancy dress for children age 7 and over.

​Monday 5 February 6:30pm – 7:30pm

​t: 028 8272 8194
e: portaferry.library@librariesni.org.uk 

Tullycarnet​

​Wizards, Dragons and Harry Potter Harry Potter craft day. Come along dressed as your favourite character.

​Saturday 3 February 11:00am – 1:00pm

​t: 028 9048 5079
e: tullycarnet.library@librariesni.org.uk 

Warrenpoint​​

​Harry Potter Book Night Craft and stories for children age 4 an over.

​Thursday 1 February 3:30pm – 5:00pm

​t: 028 4175 3375
e: warrenpoint.library@librariesni.org.uk 

 ​​

You can find out more about Harry Potter Book Night at www.harrypotterbooknight.com​

​​​​