Community Planning

Community Planning

In April 2015, 11 councils were created as part of the reform of local government and each council was given the responsibility of leading the Community Planning process for their area.

The main aim of Community Planning is to improve the connection between Government and the wider society in order to deliver better outcomes for everyone. Community plans identify long-term priorities for improving the social, economic and environmental wellbeing of residents in council areas.

Community Planning Partnerships have been established in each district comprising the council, statutory bodies, agencies and the wider community, including the community and voluntary sector. The partners will develop and implement plans for promoting the wellbeing and the quality of life for all citizens.

Libraries NI is a statutory partner in the Community Planning across all 11 Council areas, with staff members working with others as part of the process. ​

11 Council Areas:

 Antrim and Newtownabbey

 Ards and North Down 'The Big Plan'

 Armagh City, Banbridge and Craigavon

 Belfast City

 Causeway Coast and Glens

 Derry City and Strabane Community Plan

 Fermanagh and Omagh 2030 Community Plan

 Lisburn City and Castlereagh

 Mid and East Antrim ‘Putting people first'

 Mid Ulster